Skip to main content
UNC Libraries

“Southern States Woman’s Suffrage,” The News and Observer (Raleigh), November 13, 1913

“Southern States Woman’s Suffrage,” The News and Observer (Raleigh), November 13, 1913

Item Information


“Southern States Woman’s Suffrage,” The News and Observer (Raleigh), November 13, 1913


The News and Observer (Raleigh), November 13, 1913


In the public domain and may be used without copyright restriction.


still image



Southern States Women’s Suffrage

Organization of Association Under This Name Effected at New Orleans Meeting.

(By the Associated Press.)

New Orleans, La., Nov. 12 - Women suffragists who met here as the Louisiana suffrage association with several representatives from other Southern States, adjourned this afternoon after organizing a Southern conference of suffragists and a new State body. Miss Kate M. Gordon, of New Orleans, was elected president of the body embracing the Southern States.

This organization will be known as the Southern States Woman’s Suffrage conference and will hold annual meetings. It is understood the organization will stand for trying to gain votes for women through amendments to State constitutions rather than a Federal measure as advocated by the National Women’s Suffrage Organization. Other officers of the conference elected this afternoon are: Mrs. Laura Clay, Kentucky, vice-president at large; Mrs. John B. Parker, of New Orleans, corresponding secretary; Mrs. Emma Maddox Funck, Maryland, recording secretary; Mrs. George E. Cunningham, Arkansas, treasurer; Mrs. Millie Nugent Sommerville, Mississippi, and Miss Jennie E. Lauderdale, Tennessee, auditors.

State vice-presidents: Mrs. Eugene Reilly, North Carolina; Mrs. Chappelle Cory, Alabama; Mrs. O. F. Ellington, Arkansas; Miss Bell Kearney, Mississippi; Mrs. Helen H. Gardener, Washington D. C.; Mrs. Florence Cooley, Florida; Mrs. Frances Gordon Burton-Smith, Georgia; Mrs. Laura L. C. Poe, Maryland; Mrs. Desha Breckinridge, Kentucky; Mrs. B. B. Valentine, Virginia; Mrs. John B. Gibbons, South Carolina; Miss Sarah B. Elliott, Tennessee; Miss Annette Finnegan, Texas; Mrs. A. D. Stevens, Oklahoma, and Miss Florence Loeber, Louisiana.